A Glu-tyn-o-mite Report: Chick-fil-A, Quaker Oats & Cheerios

April 18, 2016


Chick-Fil-A

Yes, Chick-fil-A is testing out a gluten-free bread in Idaho, Seattle & Jackson, Mississippi! Yes, each bun is individually wrapped; however, don't cry happy tears just yet.  Though Chick-fil-A is acknowledging the gluten-free world and providing gluten-free buns, their kitchens are not gluten-free friendly environments. And the same precautions are not taken for the rest of their ingredients. We are so thankful,

Chick-fil-A is honest and states it as such. (See here).

 

Therefore, eating gluten-free at Chick-fil-A is still a caution for celiacs. Their efforts to offer a gluten-free bun is more for '"those customers who wish to minimize their intake of gluten,"' (Abesamis). So be careful before you or your child take a bite.  It's up to you to be proactive and protect your child.  And though we appreciate Chick-fil-A for being aware of celiac conditions; we think they'd agree it is not Glu-tyn-o-mite approved.  Read more about Chick-fil-A here.

 

Gluto's Grade: HIGH CAUTION

Only you know your relationship with your local Chick-fil-A...air on the side of caution.

 

Quaker Oats

Yes, Oats are naturally gluten-free; however gluten is heavily introduced prior to them hitting your grocery store shelves. One must look for the label CERTIFIED GLUTEN-FREE, or one would need to stay away!

 

As of January 2016, Quaker Oats released a line of gluten-free oats! They have informed the public that their facilities have implemented a thorough process of mechanically and optically sorting out grains that would prevent cause of cross-contamination.

 

They even meet the FDA standards for gluten-free (20 parts per million).  However,  Is this still a risk? Glu-tyn-o-mite has not seen this process first hand, so cautions celiacs at this time. Talk to your doctor and decide if it's safe for you and your child.  

Read Quaker Oats Gluten-Free Q&A here.

 

Gluto's Grade: CAUTION

Cheerios

General Mills Cheerios has been getting a lot of attention about their new gluten-free line. After launching in fall of 2015, Cheerios recalled 1.8 million gluten-free boxes due to containing wheat. (Read more here). And though they are taking efforts to fix the problems, there have been reports of people still getting sick. (Check out their web-site to make sure you are not accidentally getting a recalled box.)

 

General Mills admits that “most of the farmers who grow oats for Cheerios also grow wheat and barley, which aren’t gluten free," (Sonoma Index-Tribune). Some celiacs can't eat oats that have been grown alongside wheat and barley; and therefore, would need to stay away.  

 

General Mills has partnered with the Celiac Disease Foundation, so as for the Cheerios, one must weigh the pros and cons and talk with their doctor prior to trying these products. To read more about Cheerios efforts, click here. However, even though it's FDA approved, Glu-tyn-o-mite has not personally seen the factory and can not approve just yet. He respectfully cautions celiacs until the dust settles a bit more before he would give the FULL green light. But he is hopeful with the Celiac Disease Foundation's help & General Mills efforts...the green light could be in the near future.

 

Gluto's Grade: CAUTION

 

But what do YOU think? Do you approve of the processes?  Do you feel it's safe for your child to eat these products? Why or why not!? And we'd love to know what's been your experience with these products?

 

 

 

 

 

Abesamis, Abigail. The Daily Meal. (April 15, 2016). Chick-fil-A is Testing a Gluten-free Bun.  http://www.thedailymeal.com/news/eat/chick-fil-testing-gluten-free-bun/041516

Cheerios. (April 18, 2016). Gluten Free Recall Information. http://www.cheerios.com/Articles/Gluten%20Free%20Cheerios.aspx

Chick-fil-A. (April 18, 2016) Allergen & Gluten Information. http://www.chick-fil-a.com/Food/Allergen-Gluten-Diabetic

Hill, Kathleen. Sonoma Index-Tribune. (January 21, 2016). To remain gluten-free Cheerios keeps its wheat at a distance. 

http://www.sonomanews.com/lifestyle/5103194-181/to-remain-gluten-free-cheerios

Lee, Suevon, Law 360. (March 1, 2016). General Mills Again Sued Over Recalled 'Gluten-Free' Cheerios. http://www.law360.com/articles/765563/general-mills-again-sued-over-recalled-gluten-free-cheerios

Quaker Oats. (2016). Quaker Gluten-Free Facts. http://www.quakeroats.com/about-quaker-oats/content/quaker-faq-gluten-free.aspx

Wattles, Jackie, CNN Money. (Oct. 5, 2015). Cheerios recalls 1.8 million gluten-free boxes that may contain wheat. 
http://money.cnn.com/2015/10/05/news/companies/cheerios-recall/

 

TMGF Productions] will not be liable for any errors or omissions in this information nor for the availability of this information. TMGF Productions will not be liable for any losses, injuries, or damages from the display or use of this information. This information is based off TMGF opinion and not based upon scientific research.

 

Please reload

Featured Posts

Allergies, FPIES & Stepping Back

May 2, 2020

1/7
Please reload

Recent Posts

March 28, 2018

March 28, 2018

December 13, 2017

Please reload

Archive
Please reload

Search By Tags
Please reload

Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Pinterest - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle

© 2016 by TMGF Productions, LLC  All Rights Reserved.